Skip to main content

IBM Systems  >   System z  >   z/VM  >  

User Groups focused on z/VM and Linux on System z

Updated: 29 August 2012

These user groups devote some or all of their time to VM-related topics and Linux on the mainframe. View the VM events calendar for upcoming meetings and conferences.

If something on this page requires a change, please notify us via the VM Feedback or by sending a note to vmesa@vnet.ibm.com
Thank you.

   
User Group Name Contact,Telephone Meeting Frequency
Interaction Australasia
(once known as ASG & Common)
info@interaction.com.au
+61 2 9875-2999
Annual conference and regional events
Bay Area System z User Group for z/OS, z/VM and Linux on System z Karen Reed
kareed@us.ibm.com
Launched in 4/2011 to combine z/OS, z/VM, and Linux on System z
The BayBunch VM User Group http://www.baybunch.org/
Melissa Curry
melissa@velocitysoftware.com
and Karen Reed
kareed@us.ibm.com
Re-launched in 9/2002 to include z/VM and Linux on zSeries
Canada VM Users Group (CVMUG) David Kreuter
dkreuter@vm-resources.ca
(905) 660-3639
Annual
Chicago Area VM Enthusiasts (CAVMEN) Dave Moyer
(847) 377-2398
dmoyer@lakecountyil.gov
Quarterly
G.U.I.D.E/SHARE Europe (GSE) gsehq@gse.org
+41 41 748 70 20
International and regional or country events
GUIDE SHARE France
(Fomerly Institut de Promotion des Systemes Ouverts (IPSO) which was formed from Club VM et Club VSE en France which covered z/VM, VSE, Linux for zSeries and Tivoli Storage Manager)
www.gsefr.org Several by workgroup
HILLGANG II
Re-launched in 2002 for z/VM and Linux on System z
Hillgang List Archives
Subscribe to the HILLGANG listserv, send note to:
LISTSERV@VM.MARIST.EDU
with the command: SUBSCRIBE HILLGANG
Two or three per year
zLinuxIndia
India Linux on System z Usergroup Bangalore
Steffen Thoss stethoss@in,ibm.com
Rakesh Krishnakumar rkrishnm@in.ibm.com
Monthly Phone Calls
Quarterly Meetings
Japan GUIDE/SHARE (JGS) jgshq@jgs.or.jp
Semi-annually
Metropolitan VM Users Association (MVMUA)
(NY,NJ,Phila)
Bill Munson
william.munson@bbh.com
Quarterly
Midwest VM Regional Users Group (MVMRUG)
(Ohio and Vicinity)
Dale Smith
(330)471-3380
dale-smith@columbus.rr.com .
Fourth Friday of
Jan,Apr,Oct
New England Users of VM and Linux on System z (NEUVM)
(MA, CT, NH, VT, ME and NY)
2008 New web site: www.bu.edu/dbin/neuvm/index.php Re-established Jan. 13, 2004  
Systems Programmer Association of the Research Triangle Area (SPARTA)
(NC)
www.spartanc.org Monthly  
SHARE
www.share.org tel:(312)321-5160
1-888-5SHARE5
fax:(312)644-6363
Twice per year
March, August
Johannesburg zLinux User Group (JoziLinux)
Klaus Bergmann klausbn@za.ibm.com Quarterly
United Kingdom & Ireland z/VM and Linux on System z User Group (zLUG) Contact: Paul Yarrow paul_yarrow@uk.ibm.com Quarterly
The re-newed in 2011 VM Workshop

The Original VM Workshop
Tools from past workshop tapes are made available for download.
Web site:
www.vmworkshop.org
Facebook:
- VM Workshop Columbus OH
- VM Workshop group
Annually
WAVV
(World Alliance of VSE, VM & Linux)
Pete Clark
Email: pclark@cprsystems.com
Additional contacts
Annual
Wisconsin Linux on System z User Group Greg A Rehn, IBM
email: garehn@us.ibm.com
2-3 per year