Skip to main content

IBM Systems  >   System z  >   z/VM  >  

Live Virtual Classes


Upcoming Past z/VM LVCs Past Linux on System z LVCs Past z/VSE LVCs

General Information
IBM offers education on a variety of z/VM, Linux on System z and z/VSE topics in the form of "Live Virtual Classes" (LVC). The day of the LVC broadcast, you can see the charts and listen to the speaker "live". In addition, you are able (and are encouraged) to ask questions of the speaker during a Q&A session following the prepared presentation. Please register for the section you wish to attend. Each LVC lasts approximately one hour, including Q&A.

The day following each LVC, we plan to post the the charts here in PDF format. Shortly thereafter we plan to provide a replay where you can read the charts, hear the recording and the Q&As. You are welcome to read the charts or listen to the playbacks when you can't participate 'live' or even if you wish to hear it all again.

Automatic Notification
For automatic notification of changes to this page, including additions to the schedule, click on the "Notify me" link in the navigation section on the left.

To be reminded of these virtual classes via email, contact Stephanie Gherghe, please mention "Linux and z/VM Webcasts" in the subject line of your email to Stephanie.


Upcoming Live Virtual Classes (LVC)

Date: Tuesday, April 29, 2014 or Wednesday, April 30, 2014
Topic: Mobile Computing on System z with IBM Worklight
Speaker: Wilhelm Mild, Executive IT Architect, IBM Germany
Abstract: System z can host a mobile environment and enable end-to-end secured solutions from mobile devices to back-end services. The mobile environment on Linux on System z can access existing core applications making them available to a high variety of different mobile devices. With IBM Worklight you can integrate your core applications, remote services and data servers with mobile applications. The session will show the details.
Presentation Charts:
Registration:
  • Date: Tuesday, April 29, 2014 (US/Canada/LA/Europe)
    Time: 12:00 PM EDT / 11:00 AM CDT / 6:00 PM Boeblingen / 16:00 UTC
    Registration link: Click here to register
  • Date: Wednesday, April 30, 2014 (Asia/Australia/Europe)
    Time: 9:00 AM Boeblingen / 07:00:00 UTC / 03:00 AM EDT
    Registration link: Click here to register

Date: Tuesday, May 6, 2014
Topic: z/VSE V5 Update
Speaker: Ingolf Salm, IBM Germany
Abstract: Have you heard about the newest announcements made by IBM for z/VSE and related components? If not or you would like more, this is the session for you. It will provide an update on the features and functions of zEC12 and zBC12 that are tolerated and exploited by z/VSE V5. You also get an insight into functional details of z/VSE with the emphasis on z/VSE V5.2.
Presentation Charts:
Registration (Note: there is no need to register ahead of time for this webcast):
  • Date: Tuesday, May 6, 2014
    Time: Asia & Europe: 9:00 Germany / 15:00 China / 16:00 Japan / 03:00 AM EDT
    or
    Time: Americas: 11:00 AM EDT / 08:00 AM PDT
    Webcast link: Click here to link to webcast.